m-audio axiom 25 and linux


This is a short message  informing that I plugged a M-Audio Axiom 25 MIDI controller into the USB port and it was recognised immediately. Sooperlooper, Specimen, JackRack, Hydrogen… perfect. I didn’t yet figure out how the transport buttons work.  The manual is telling me weird stuff…

(as of Ubuntu 8.04, 2.6.24-23-rt)

Photo of the M-Audio Axiom 25 MIDI controller.

Photo of the M-Audio Axiom 25 MIDI controller.

6 Responses to “m-audio axiom 25 and linux”


  1. 1 Jim December 30, 2009 at 1:21 am

    Do you still use this? I am interested in getting started with audio and Linux and was looking at this unit.

    Do the pads work as well as the keyboard under Linux?

    Thanks!

    • 2 linuxaudiolive January 2, 2010 at 7:47 pm

      I still use it and under linux only. Basically everything (I tried) works: the keyboard, the pressure pads (used as a simple pad as well as used as a pressure controler), the controllers and the play/fwd/rew etc. buttons. I didn’t try bank select and program select and that stuff, this is to advanced for me at the moment. The Axiom is a linux-plug-and-play-midi-controller

  2. 3 DjPan February 10, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Hey man!

    im glad now that i know that my Axiom 25 can work in some way under linux..!
    Im using Ubuntu Karmic, Gnome, any ideas how can i make it work? 😉

    thx man

    • 4 linuxaudiolive February 11, 2010 at 9:54 am

      Hi there.

      well, it’s not that it works just SOME WAY, for me everything works quite nicely. (Ubuntu 8.04). Basically you plug it in, turn it on and in some connection software (I use qjackctl) the device shows up and can be connected to the different MIDI ports of your programs. I’d say you don’t even need the real-time kernel.

  3. 5 Ignacio August 10, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    helo, I’m interested in buying this controller… have you tried with zynaddsubfx? it’s the principal program that I use and I would like to assign diferents things to the pads and knobs…
    thanks for your help

    • 6 linuxaudiolive August 12, 2010 at 1:27 pm

      Hi Ignacio,

      in theory this controller works with any software that “understands” MIDI. And here is the problem: I am not sure about zynaddsubfx. Although it seems that it should understand MIDI signals I never got to understand, how to program the different knobs to understand a specific MIDI controller. As long as you don’t know on what controller the respective knob is “listening” you won’t be able to do anything. But the piano roll for example definitely works.

      One should find out about the right connections within zynaddsubfx and make it public, I never found that information.


Leave a Reply

