eeepc as a linux audio workstation


A few days ago I told you about the first steps into using an eeepc as a real-time audio tool. jack runs up fine. I chose the internal audio card with the combination 48kHz,  256frames, 4buffers (which gives a latency of  21.3msec) and running on its  own  it doesn’t cough up any xrun.

I couldn’t get sooperlooper working yet. Sooperlooper works (see solution)! freqtweak works  (A nice little thing!), too.  Ardour works very nice, too. Sometimes the screen is a bit small for the whole window, but  I was using ardour a bit today and it wasn’t too much of  a hassle. Audacity is buggy (converting to mono + playing results in a segmentation fault).

I will try and find out about sooperlooper and audacity. Other programs and how an external audio card  connects  (I hope  my older posts will tell me what to do), a midi interface and all that will come up soon…

4 Responses to “eeepc as a linux audio workstation”


  1. 1 Paulus March 4, 2009 at 3:21 am

    Just a quick comment to say that I’m happy to have found your blog. I was having trouble finding people interested in audio-for-linux, and for DJ mixing in particular. Now I just need some time to read through your blog.

    Cheers!

  2. 2 linuxaudiolive March 4, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Hi Paulus. Yeah, you’re right, many people seem to not consider linux as adequate for music-making. I did some DJ mixing with linux but not much, so there isn’t any post about it in the blog yet. But maybe it’ll come soon.

    cheers

  3. 3 Paulus March 4, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    I previously used Mixx, which was able to run the main/headphone output independently through the front/side channels of my sound card respectively.

    Now I’m trialling UltraMixer (Java) which only support OSS, which shows only a single device (or channel) in the preferences. Boo. Back to Mixx’s primitive interface…

    Also nothing I’ve found allows live “tapping-in” of BPMs like Tracktor on windows, although Mixx allows you do this in the track-properties dialog.

    A bit off topic but thought you maybe interested in my findings…

    I’m also now looking for an eee pc or similar netbook.


  1. 1 sooperlooper segmentation fault « linux audio live Trackback on March 9, 2009 at 6:06 pm

Leave a Reply

